NordSec 2019

The 24th Nordic Conference on Secure IT Systems

November 18-20

NordSec is an annual research conference series that has been running since 1996. The NordSec conferences address a broad range of topics on IT security. The events bring together security researchers from the Nordic countries, Northern Europe, and beyond. In addition to being venue for academic publishing, NordSec is an important meeting place for university faculty, students, and industry researchers and experts from the region.

Background, aim and scope

NordSec addresses a broad range of topics within IT security with the aim of bringing together computer security researchers and encouraging interaction between academia and industry. In addition to regular research paper submissions, we invite participants to present their ideas in poster sessions during lunches and coffee breaks.

Possible topics include, but are not limited to:

  • Access control and security models
  • Applied cryptography
  • Blockchains
  • Cloud security
  • Cryptographic protocols
  • Cyber crime, warfare, and forensics
  • Economic, legal, and social aspects of security
  • Hardware and embedded security
  • Information-flow security
  • Language-based security
  • Mobile and Internet of Things security
  • New ideas and paradigms in security
  • Operating system security
  • Privacy and anonymity
  • Security and machine learning
  • Security education and training
  • Security management and audit
  • Security metrics
  • Security usability
  • Social engineering and phishing
  • Software security and malware
  • Threat Modelling
  • Trust and identity management
  • Trusted computing
  • Vulnerability testing
  • Web application security

Important dates

Submissions due: Aug 25, 2019, AoE Aug 09, 2019, AoE
Notification of acceptance: Sep 15, 2019, AoE
Poster abstract submission deadline Sep 11, 2019, AoE
Poster notification Sep 30, 2019, AoE
Camera ready copy Oct 01, 2019, AoE
Early registration deadline Oct 15, 2019, AoE
Conference Nov 18 - 20, 2019


Contributions should reflect original research, developments, studies and experience. Submitted papers should not exceed 16 pages (including references and appendices) in Springer LNCS format. Submitted papers must not substantially overlap with papers that have been published or that are simultaneously submitted to a journal or a conference with proceedings.

All submitted papers will be judged based on their quality and relevance through double-blind reviewing, where the identities of the authors are withheld from the reviewers. As an author, you are required to make a good-faith effort to preserve the anonymity of your submission, while at the same time allowing the reader to fully grasp the context of related past work, including your own. Minimally, please take the following steps when preparing your submission:

  • Remove the names and affiliations of authors from the title page.
  • Remove acknowledgment of identifying names and funding sources.
  • Use care in referring to related work, particularly your own. Do not omit references to provide anonymity, as this leaves the reviewer unable to grasp the context. Instead, reference your past work in the third person, just as you would any other piece of related work by another author.
  • Papers must not exceed 16 pages.

All submissions will be peer-reviewed by the program committee listed below.

Papers should be formatted using the Springer LNCS format and must be submitted online, in PDF format, via EasyChair.


The poster exhibition gives Master's and PhD students the opportunity to expose and discuss their security research with other NordSec participants. Please submit an extended abstract (2 pages) of your poster topic. If your abstract is accepted, you are expected to create the full poster, print it yourself and present it at the conference's poster exhibition.


Conference proceedings will be published (electronically) in the Springer LNCS series.

Program committee

  • Magnus Almgren (Chalmers University of Technology)
  • Mads Andersen (The Alexandra Institute)
  • Hamed Arshad (University of Oslo)
  • Aslan Askarov (Aarhus University) (co-chair)
  • Mikael Asplund (Linköping University)
  • Musard Balliu (Royal Institute of Technology)
  • Billy Brumley (Tampere University)
  • Sonja Buchegger (KTH Royal Institute of Technology)
  • György Dán (KTH Royal Institute of Technology)
  • Mathias Ekstedt (KTH Royal Institute of Technology)
  • Daniel Fava (University of Oslo)
  • Ulrik Franke (RISE)
  • Lothar Fritsch (Karlstad University)
  • Kristian Gjøsteen (Norwegian University of Science and Technology)
  • Nils Gruschka (University of Oslo)
  • Jonas Hallberg (Swedish Defence Research Agency)
  • René Rydhof Hansen (Aalborg University) (co-chair)
  • Tor Helleseth (University of Bergen)
  • Martin Gilje Jaatun (SINTEF Digital)
  • Justinas Janulevicius (VGTU)
  • Meiko Jensen (Kiel University of Applied Sciences)
  • Thomas Johansson (Dept. of Electrical and Information Technology, Lund University)
  • Pontus Johnson (KTH Royal Institute of Technology)
  • Sokratis Katsikas (Center for Cyber and Information Security, NTNU)
  • Audun Jøsang (University of Oslo)
  • Ville Leppänen (University of Turku, Department of Future Technologies)
  • Luigi Lo Iacono (Cologne University of Applied Sciences)
  • Ijlal Loutfi (University of Oslo)
  • Olaf Maennel (Tallinn University of Technology)
  • Tobias Mahler (University of Oslo)
  • Raimundas Matulevicius (University of Tartu)
  • Vasileios Mavroeidis (University of Oslo)
  • Nils Nordbotten (FFI)
  • Mads Chr. Olesen (TrackUnit)
  • Jens Myrup Pedersen (Aalborg University, Dept. of Electronic Systems)
  • Willard Rafnsson (IT University of Copenhagen) (poster chair)
  • Shahid Raza (RISE SICS Stockholm)
  • Juha Röning (University of Oulu)
  • Berry Schoenmakers (Eindhoven University of Technology)
  • Einar Snekkenes (Norwegian University of Science and Technology)
  • Shukun Tokas (University of Oslo)
  • Alix Trieu (Aarhus University)
  • Alexandre Vernotte (KTH Royal Institute of Technology)
  • Øyvind Ytrehus (University of Bergen)
  • Fabio Massimo Zennaro (University of Oslo)
  • Bingsheng Zhang (Lancaster University)


The PC chairs can be contacted at the following addresses:
  • Aslan Askarov: aslan [at] cs [dot] au [dot] dk
  • René Rydhof Hansen: rrh@ [at] cs [dot] aau [dot] dk
The poster chair can be contacted at the following address:
  • Willard Rafnsson: wilr [at] itu [dot] dk

Previous editions